Chicken Soup.

Standard

My mom gave me a chicken carcass the other day and I made my own broth from it.  In my opinion, its so much better than canned broth but I have nothing against it and use it myself when I don’t have my own.  I’m also unsure why I always make HOT meals on HOT days.  The last 80 degree day I made calzones in a 400 degree oven and this 80 degree day, I made a big pot of Chicken Soup.  Maybe during the next snow fall, I’ll put together a large garden salad and then I’ll really have something pretty sweet going on here at 1046!

Chicken Soup.

Ingredients

  • Home-made pot of chicken broth.
  • Shred, Dice… However you like Chicken – Taken from 1 whole roasted chicken.
  • 6 carrots, peeled & diced
  • 4-5 celery sticks (almost 1 stalk), diced
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tomatoes, diced
  • 2 large handfuls of Spinach, Chopped
  • 1-2 Chicken Bouillon Cubes
  • S&P
  • Fresh Basil, chopped
  • Italian Seasoning
  • Garlic Powder

Directions

  1. After making home-made chicken broth, I set the broth aside and heated a little EVOO in the pot.
  2. Then, I sauteed the onion, garlic, carrots & celery until soft.  Sprinkle some S&P over veggies while cooking.
  3. I then added the diced tomato, chicken and broth to the pot.
  4. If your home-made broth didn’t get a whole lot of flavor, you can add 1-2 chicken bouillon cubes to the pot for more.
  5. Stir and add all seasonings.
  6. At the very end, add chopped spinach and cook until wilted.
  7. Cook noodles of your choice.  (We used egg noodles because its what I had in the pantry!)

Sprinkle a little Romano Cheese on top & Serve!

“Good manners: The noise you don’t make when you’re eating good soup.” ~Bennett Cerf

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

